skip navigation


By Chicago Steel, 05/19/17, 9:00AM CDT


The Chicago Steel have qualified for the Clark Cup Playoffs for the first time in nine seasons!

Here’s what you need to know about the Clark Cup Playoff Format, the teams in the playoffs, playoff dates and more!

Clark Cup Final (best-of-5) 
E1-Chicago Steel vs. W1-Sioux City Musketeers


Game 1 – Friday, May 12 at Sioux City (L 4-5 (OT))
Game 2 – Saturday, May 13 at Sioux City (W 5-1)
Game 3 – Friday, May 19 at CHICAGO (W 3-0)
Game 4 – Saturday, May 20 at CHICAGO (L 4-5)
Game 5 - Tuesday, May 23 at Sioux City, (W 2-1 OT)


Eastern Conference Final (best-of-5) 
1-Chicago Steel vs. 2-Dubuque Fighting Saints

Chicago wins series 3-1

Game 1 – Friday, April 28 at Chicago (W 4-1)
Game 2 – Saturday, April 29 at Dubuque (L 1-3)
Game 3 – Friday, May 5 at Dubuque (W 4-3)
Game 4 – Saturday, May 6 at Dubuque (W 7-3)


Eastern Conference Semifinals (best-of-5) 
1-Chicago Steel vs. 4-Youngstown Phantoms

Chicago wins series 3-2

Game 1 – Friday, April 14 at Chicago (W 4-1)
Game 2 – Saturday, April 15 at Chicago (W 6-0)
Game 3 – Friday, April 21 at Youngstown (L 1-4)
Game 4 – Saturday, April 22 at Youngstown (L 2-3)
Game 5 – Tuesday, April 25 at Chicago (W 2-0)



1. How many teams qualify for the Clark Cup Playoffs? 

The top four teams in each conference qualify for the playoffs.

2. What is the playoff format?

The 2017 Clark Cup Playoffs consist of three rounds - each best-of-five series. The higher seed in each series has home ice advantage. There is no shootout in playoff games; if tied after regulation, the game will advance to sudden-death overtime periods of 20 minutes each until a winner is determined. Here is the format:

Conference Semifinals (best-of-five) – within each conference, #1 vs. #4, #2 vs. #3

Conference Finals (best-of-five) – within each conference, the winners of the Conference Semifinals meet

Clark Cup Final – winners of each Conference Finals series

3. When will the playoff games be played?

Playoff dates are announced prior to the start of each series, once the matchup is officially determined. Most games are played on Friday and Saturday nights.  Here are probable dates for each series:

Conference Semifinals – Friday, April 14 through Wednesday, April 26

Conference Finals – starting Friday, April 28 through Wednesday, May 10

Clark Cup Final – starting Friday, May 12 through Wednesday, May 24

In most cases, Games 1 and 2 will be played at the higher seed on Friday and Saturday night. Games 3 and 4 will be played at the lower seed the following Friday and Saturday night.

If necessary, a Game 5 will be played at the higher seed the next Tuesday or Wednesday nights. Please note that this is subject to change due to building availability and travel, so make sure to check for the schedule for each playoff series which will be announced when the matchup is officially determined.

4. When will playoff tickets go on sale?

Playoff ticket packages are on sale now through the Steel Pay As We Play program. This ensures the same seat to every Clark Cup Playoff Home Game. The Steel also offer a March Madness package that guarantees FREE playoff games with the purchase of a new season ticket plan (starting at just 5 games) for next season.

Single-game playoff tickets will be on sale prior to each series. Please continue to check for announcements on playoff ticket on-sale dates for each round.

5.  What is the Clark Cup?

The Clark Cup is symbolic of supremacy in American junior hockey, presented annually to the playoff champions of the nation’s only Tier 1 circuit, the USHL. It is named in honor of Don Clark, the long-time registrar of the Minnesota Amateur Hockey Association. The Steel have never won the Clark Cup.

Clark Cup Champions

2015-16 Tri-City Storm
2014-15 Sioux Falls Stampede
2013-14 Indiana Ice
2012-13 Dubuque Fighting Saints
2011-12 Green Bay Gamblers
2010-11 Dubuque Fighting Saints
2009-10 Green Bay Gamblers
2008-09 Indiana Ice
2007-08 Omaha Lancers
2006-07 Sioux Falls Stampede
2005-06 Des Moines Buccaneers
2004-05 Cedar Rapids RoughRiders
2003-04 Waterloo Black Hawks
2002-03 Lincoln Stars
2001-02 Sioux City Musketeers
2000-01 Omaha Lancers
1999-00 Green Bay Gamblers
1998-99 Des Moines Buccaneers
1997-98 Sioux City Musketeers
1996-97 Omaha Lancers
1995-96 Green Bay Gamblers
1994-95 Des Moines Buccaneers
1993-94 Omaha Lancers
1992-93 Omaha Lancers
1991-92 Des Moines Buccaneers
1990-91 Omaha Lancers
1989-90 Omaha Lancers
1988-89 Thunder Bay Flyers
1987-88 Thunder Bay Flyers
1986-87 Rochester Mustangs
1985-86 Sioux City Musketeers
1984-85 Dubuque Fighting Saints
1983-84 St. Paul Vulcans
1982-83 Dubuque Fighting Saints
1981-82 Sioux City Musketeers
1980-81 Dubuque Fighting Saints
1979-90 Hennepin Nordiques