skip navigation


By Chicago Steel, 06/11/20, 2:30PM CDT


Brendan Brisson and Owen Power named to First Team; Mathieu De St. Phalle named to Second Team

GENEVA, ILLINOIS — Steel forward Brendan Brisson and defenseman Owen Power were named to the All-USHL First Team and Steel forward Mathieu De St. Phalle was named to the All-USHL Second Team, the United States Hockey League announced Thursday.

“Speaking for our entire Coaching Staff, we are proud of Owen, Brendan, and Mathieu for being selected to the All-USHL First and Second Teams.“ Said Steel Head Coach Brock Sheahan. “All three players are great people and great players, who work every day to get better both on and off the ice. These awards are a reflection on our entire group, and speak to the work that Owen, Brendan, Mathieu, and each of their teammates put in throughout the year as well.”

Brisson, a University of Michigan commit, led league rookies and ranked second in the USHL in scoring with 59 points (24G, 35A) in 45 games played. The Manhattan Beach, Calif., native was twice named the USHL forward of the week during the 2019-20 campaign (Nov. 19, 2019 & Jan. 22, 2020) and posted 18 multi-point outings this season.

Power owned the top spot among defensemen on the United States Hockey League scoring list with 40 points (12G, 28A) in 45 games played. The University of Michigan-bound blueliner paced defensemen with 19 points (5G, 14A) on the power play, helping Chicago to a 24.6% success rate (56-for-228) with the man advantage which ranked first in the USHL. The Mississauga, Ontario, native was named USHL Defenseman of the Week on Oct. 29, 2019.

De St. Phalle won the USHL scoring title with 60 points (30G, 30A) in 49 outings this season. The University of Wisconsin commit ranks fourth in Steel franchise history with 107 career points (42G, 65A) in a Chicago sweater. De St. Phalle was named USHL Forward of the Week on Feb. 18, 2020.

With two players awarded First-Team honors by the USHL, the Steel have now had representatives named to the First Team in three consecutive seasons (Brendan Brisson, Owen Power – 2020; Nick Abruzzese – 2019; Graham Lillibridge, Jack Dugan – 2018).

The Steel were awarded the 2020 Anderson Cup as the regular-season champions of the United States Hockey League after posting a 41-7-1-0 (83 pts) record, a franchise-best for wins and points in a season. Chicago set league records with an .847 win percentage and an average of 4.94 goals per game prior to the cancellation of the regular season and Clark Cup Playoffs on March 18.

Season tickets are available now for the 2020-2021 season at Fox Valley Ice Arena starting at just 5 games for $45.  Full season tickets are available starting at just $8 per game.  In addition to affordable ticket prices, the Steel offer free parking, themed promotions and family-friendly entertainment.

For more information and to purchase Steel tickets, call 855-51-STEEL or visit